Sunrise

Monday, December 13, 2010 at 7:21 pm | Posted in Poetry | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

I saw the sun rise today
and I saw the birds fly today
it was fall outside
I saw the leaves go down today

There’s a golden blanket
covering my front yard
and the trees are feeling the separation
I didn’t see that one squirrel
nibbling on the almonds
I did see a bird
bouncing for joy

My eyes are hazy
they haven’t slept all night
it’s a good thing I think
the dreams give me a fright
no, there are no monsters nor demons
yet there’s fear
maybe it’s the hope they bring
because hope is the thing with wings
it flies away

like those birds chirping
because I saw the sun rise today

– Sona

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really like this one, of course love the bit about dreams and hope!
    -J


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

